Summer Meisner Intensive Talk with Sara Kohler – Maggie Flanigan Studio – Call (917) 789-1599

Summer Meisner Intensive Talk with Sara Kohler - Maggie Flanigan Studio - Call (917) 789-1599During this interview with Katie, Sara Kohler talks about the Meisner Summer Intensive at the Maggie Flanigan Studio.

The Meisner Intensive supplies pupils with the chance to experience what this means to train as an expert actor. In this interview, Sara talks about her expertise in the six-week summer intensive and how it was different than what she previously thought the professional training was like.

Q: What did you believe acting training was the Six Week Summer Intensive, before you started?

A: I though that acting training was a good deal of what I did in college. I didnt think it was crucial for me. I didnt understand what training actually meant and so coming here, and learning the start of the Meisner technique, I started to appreciate that training was nothing that I believed it was. Its merely a new manner of working that I’d never even thought of and I was looking to step into these characters in my personal scene study classes that I had no notion how exactly to step into. I had no technique and I didnt understand what I had been doing. Coming here Ive began to learn the way to work and Ive already learned so much.

Q: What happened during the Meisner Summer Intensive that changed your outlook on training?

A: Well, I had been starting to learn what training truly meant, first of all and I learned that clearly I didnt understand what I was doing and what really changed for me was that I realized that I wasnt listening in scenes and I wasnt really taking in and it wasnt just about what was being said to me it was about the way that it had been said if you ask me and Id never thought of that before for some reason. I was merely constantly looking forward to my cue and saying a line the way that I thought Id done homework on and that it had been rehearsed by me and really I didnt even learn how to do assignments, which will be crazy. Just thinking back to the summertime, how far Ive come is astonishing and it really, truly altered my life.

Q: What occurred throughout the Six Week Meisner Intensive that you learned about yourself that changed you or you surprised?

A: I was surprised to think back on those characters that Ive realized and played that I ‘d no notion what I was doing. With the Meisner technique you actually start to understand what its like to craft and create a nature and a situation, I didnt possess a technique, I didnt discover the best way to even prepare to get a job and I didnt have training and live through something. I was just shocked and its almost laughable to look at the items that I did before this. Its challenging for me to believe that I have been seen by people like that and its embarrassing to be somewhat honest.

Interview and this web log post with Sara first appeared on the studio site: http://www.maggieflaniganstudio.com/summer-intensive-program/

Leave a Reply

